The Goldsmiths Prize 2016

Fiction at its most novel

Prize intro

The Goldsmiths Prize was established in 2013 to celebrate the qualities of creative daring associated with the University and to reward fiction that breaks the mould or extends the possibilities of the novel form. The annual prize of £10,000 is awarded to a book that is deemed genuinely novel and which embodies the spirit of invention that characterises the genre at its best. 

2017 prize entry

The timetable for the 2017 prize is below. Full details on the rules and entry page.



Prize intro

Key dates

Prize open for submissions

20 January 2017

Closing date for submission of entry forms

24 March 2017

Closing date for submission of finished books

30 June 2017

Shortlist announced

27 September 2017

Winner announced

15 November 2017

The Judges

Description of image

The Goldsmith Prize App for iOS

Download the app to read information on all the nominated books, watch interviews and readings, explore the fresco that lies at the heart of Ali Smith's 2014 winner How to be Both, and see pages from the manuscript and first draft of Eimear McBride's A Girl is a Half-formed Thing.

Find out more and download the app for free